My honest review of books & other products

I love to read & I love to save money on good products for my family of six. Here, I'll share my thoughts on various books and other products in hopes it may help someone else!

Sunday, December 18, 2011

The Harvest of Grace

Sylvia Fisher is not like most other Amish girls her age.  Instead of marrying and managing a home, she prefers to milk dairy cows and manage a farm.  This different and independent attitude is not so appreciated by her father or her beau and she soon loses all that she holds dear because of it.  When further problems arise, Sylvia finds herself forced to leave her home and work for another Amish couple in a different district.  While there, she learns about herself and others in a way that changes her life forever.

This book is the third in a series called The Ada House Series.  While the author fills the reader in on some pertinent information and plot lines from the first two books, this book would be best read after reading its predecessors in the series.  I didn't realize it was part of a series when I ordered it and while I enjoyed it, it was difficult to follow the numerous characters whose stories were told in previous books.  I really think I would have enjoyed it much more had I started at the beginning of the series.

But, regardless of my lack of attention to detail and thus mistake in ordering the third in a trilogy, the book was fun, entertaining, and had a good message.  I'd certainly recommend it to any avid reader of Amish fiction novels--after you've read the first two:  The Hope of Refuge  and The Bridge of Peace.  Great work, once again, Cindy Woodsmall!

Thanks, Waterbrookmultnomah, for the complimentary copy for purpose of review.

No comments:

Post a Comment